“More on Politics” by Jasmine Baucham

In this article, Miss Baucham does a wonderful job discussing the issues before us.  I encourage you to follow the link and read the entire article.  But I wanted to copy some of it here as it addresses a subject I’ve debated with some people in recent times.

~Tee-Kaye

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Is it odd that we Christians, commanded to take every thought captive (2 Corinthians 2:5) feel like our “hands are tied” in this election, that we are forced to vote for the lesser of two evils, that the vote otherwise would be “wasting” our vote? I think it is.

It boggles my mind to think that, if Christians would not, in good conscience, vote for John McCain in any other instance, would rally together and vote for a man who really espoused the values they hold dear… we may not win an election, but the numbers would certainly get people’s attention.

Will my candidate win? Most likely, no, he will not. But a vote for a third party in this case is not a vote for Senator Obama -it is to vote according to principal. I cannot fill out that ballot in light of the future of our country and vote any other way. It couldn’t be a republic if my hands were tied. I won’t stand before God and say my hands are tied. My hands -my mind -are free to make whatever choice that my conscience will allow. 

Best of all, whatever the outcome of this election, we serve a sovereign King! It causes me to utter the most satisfying sigh of relief just thinking about it. 🙂 Praise to the Father, who is working this out according to HIS purposes and for HIS glory; whether it’s President Obama or President McCain (or, wonder of wonders, President Baldwin or President Paul down the line 🙂 to HIM be the glory; He certainly wont’ be surprised.  …

(To read the rest, follow this link. http://joyfullyathome.blogspot.com/2008/08/more-on-politics.html )

Leave a Reply

