Back from Nats

Hey ya’ll!  I’ve arrived safely back home!  Boy, am I glad to be back!

Nats went okay.  I got to see a lot of speeches, and taped a lot as well.  11 video tapes worth to be exact! 😉  I unfortunately did not break, and I don’t think I did my best with my speech.  My mom says that I looked almost bored with it.  On my ballots I got three 4th’s, one 5th, and five 5th & below’s.  I got one really funny ballot.  It said, “Content lacked in entertainment value.  Good delivery.”  LOL!  I laughed so hard when I read that ballot!  I remember seeing that judge scowling at me the entire time I gave my speech!  But that ballot didn’t hurt me any worse, so I can easily laugh at it.  😉

I think my biggest problem was that I didn’t practice it at all before the tourney.  I had all of the words and general actions memorized, but I had forgotten over the long waiting period all of the specific movements I had come up with earlier in the year.  When I look back over the year, the tournament I did best at, which was Centennial, I had gone to a tournament a week before, and I had practiced a lot, and had laid awake at night thinking of movements to add.  But I never practiced after that, and I steadily did worse.  So I’ve resolved that next year, I will practice a lot more, at the very least a few days before the tournament.  Even if it is only rehearsing it in my head.  I think I’ll make sure that I tape myself every tournament and watch it so I can know what to change, and won’t forget things I did that I liked.

As far as in between rounds goes, I was sorely missing my speech club.  Though there were a few people that talked to me every so often, there was no one that I really hung out with.  I am proud of myself however, for starting many a conversation with people that I didn’t know.  For those of you who know me, you will understand the importance of this accomplishment.  For those of you who don’t, I’m extremely afraid of talking to people that I don’t know.  I even hate calling friends on the phone, for fear that I dial the wrong number.  So I was quite proud of my boldness.  But I still missed my true friends.  The ones that I didn’t have to try hard to get them to talk to me.  Who understand my weirdness, who know how to comfort and support me and how to get me to laugh so I can forget my troubles.

I am grateful though to the few people that would start up conversations with me when they saw me.  They were very sweet.  I’m also very grateful to God for one person in particular.

After the award ceremony, there was an after party at a place called Vulcan Park.  This facility was on top of a hill, it had a museum, a pretty big lawn, and a three story tall tower with a humongous statue on top.  The view from the tower was stunning.  Alabama is very pretty.  Anyways, there was a paved area where they had speakers set up and was used as a dance floor.  Soon after the dancing started, I met a family of three girls and I taught one of them how to do the basic swing step.  When the song ended, I went with them up to the top of the tower.  After this, I hung out with them for the rest of the evening.  One of the girls and I danced together and talked about Pride and Prejudice and other similar topics.  At one point, they played a waltz, and she came up with idea that we Duo dance.  So we didn’t touch, or look at each other, and waltz around the floor.  It was very fun.  I enjoyed myself so much, and I am very thankful that God brought us together.  We exchanged e-mail addresses, so hopefully we’ll stay in touch.

Through the whole tournament, we shared a rental car with another mother and her son.  They were a very sweet family.  I had heard many times from my debate partner about how cool this family was, but before now I hadn’t had the chance to get to know them.  So I am also very grateful for the chance to do just that.

So, I suppose, over all, it wasn’t a bad week.  I believe I learned a lot from watching the debates and speeches and I made some new friends.  We even had a funny incident.  We had just picked up the rental car and left the airport when it happened.  My mom pushed a button on the rear view mirror and this car alarm started to go off inside the car!  Then there was a ringing noise, then the sound of a phone being picked up and someone answered, “Hello, I’m so-and-so from OnStar, how can I help?” My mom, “How do I turn this off!!!”  “First ma’am, is there an emergency in the car?”  “No, I just accidentally pushed a button, how do I turn it off?”  “I can take care of that, goodbye.”  LOL!!!  Though frightening at first, we laughed heartily about it later, and was the subject of a couple jokes.  I am happy to report, we never had a reason to call OnStar again! 😉

Well, I believe that is all I have to say for now.

~Tee-Kaye

One Response

  1. I know it’s kind of late to say this now but oh well.
    I’m glad your back and glad that you got to meat people and weren’t board and abandoned the whole time. I really wish I could have been there.

    ~Daniel~

Leave a Reply

