“Our Great Saviour”

Last night God answered one of the questions that’s been weighing me down for a few months now.  Unfortunately it was at 11:30 p.m. so I’m a bit tired now. 😉  I want to share what I learned with ya’ll.

Now I have to go back a bit so you can understand what I’m talking about.  Throughout my childhood I was everyone’s last resort friend.  They only talked to me if they had exhausted every other avenue of entertainment. (Yes, I think I’m still holding on to some bitterness over this, but that’s a topic for another time.)  So when a few years ago I actually had friends who enjoyed spending time with me, I was a little shocked. 🙂  God has really blessed me over the past few years with wonderful, godly friends, and I think I appreciate them more now since I wasn’t real well liked earlier on.

But then, over the past year and a half God has been methodically taking away my friends.  A year and a half ago a good friend and I grew apart, last June a very good friend moved all the way across the country, and in January my best friend moved out of state.  Needless to say, I’ve been getting sadder and sadder.  But when my best friend was moving, I felt like my heart would break.  I started asking, what’s the point of having good things, like friends and happiness, if you are only going to lose them?  Is the happiness you enjoy now really worth the eventual pain?  And what was the point of loving people?  You are only going to lose them eventually.  I’ve had these questions in the back of my mind for almost half a year now, but God has begun to answer them.

It started yesterday morning.  We sang “Our Great Savior” in church and the third verse really hit me.  “Jesus what a help in sorrow!  While the billows o’er me roll!  Even when my heart is breaking, he my comfort, helps my soul.”  But I didn’t really let it sink in much at that time.

My parents, brother and I have been listening to “The Giver” by Lois Lowry for a week or so now. (It was a book on tape.)  We finished it last night.  For those of you who have never read it, it is a story about a community that is completely run by rules made up by a committee.  The committee long ago, had decided that they wanted to get rid of every pain that was out there.  So they took away feelings, color, uniqueness, hills, they kept the population down, and set up all these rules that had to be followed.  Every thing was in complete order, but in the process of protecting the people from pain, they took away all their true joy.  They couldn’t enjoy the unique way God had created everyone, or the beautiful colors of God’s creation.  They also couldn’t make choices, as in what their career would be, or who they would marry.  The whole story was rather sad, but it didn’t hit me until last night that this is what a life without pain would be like.  I saw what a life without true joy would be like.

While this was mulling around in my head the third verse of “Our Great Saviour” popped into my head again.  God has promised that he will be there in the tough times to carry us through.  Sure there are sad times in life, but God has given us true joy, and promised us eternal joy in the future.  It is the unbelievers who are the ones truly without hope, for they have nothing to rely on but themselves.  But we, who are in Christ Jesus, have the hope that He has given to us.

I also realized how selfish my thoughts had been.  I didn’t want to feel pain and sadness, but didn’t really care about others around me, or about God.  My only thought was for myself, instead of glorifying God.  But God has convicted me on all these things, and has given me the desire to change.  So know I don’t feel as hopeless any more. 😉  My reliance shouldn’t be on my friends, but on God.  He is the only true foundation.

That’s basically it.  I hope I wrote it in a way that can be comprehended. 😉  I would like to close with the words of “Our Great Saviour.”

 

Jesus, what a friend for sinners!

Jesus!  Lover of my soul;

Friends may fail me, foes assail me,

He, my Saviour make me whole.

 

Jesus what a strength in weakness!

Let me hide myself in Him;

Tempted, tried, and sometimes failing,

He, my strength, my victory wins.

 

Jesus, what a help in sorrow!

While the billows o’er me roll,

Even when my heart is breaking,

He, my comfort, helps my soul.

 

Jesus!  I do now receive Him,

More than all in Him I find;

He hath granted me forgiveness,

I am His, and He is mine.

 

Hallelujah!  What a Saviour!

Hallelujah!  What a friend!

Saving, helping keeping, loving,

He is with me to the end.

3 Responses

  1. I understand how you feel. I have felt that way before. The one thing that I remember is that the only reason it hurts is because you love and care about that person, and you cannot have God’s spirit in you and not have love, because God is love. 🙂 Just a thought.
    God bless!
    (Please pray for me and my family)
    ~A Daughter of Zion

  2. I don’t see how anybody would come to you as a last resort.
    Your such a great example of god’s love.
    I’m sorry you’ve had to go through that.
    THat can really hurt.
    But like you’ve already said so muc better than I.
    God is there and is going to help you through it all.

    ~Daniel~

  3. Teekay,
    I heart you! You are beautiful and amzing and I am so glad you are my friend!! You are such a wonderful example to me and I can’t ever tell you how much you mean to me! Love you tons and bunches!

    Kisses,
    Spen

Leave a Reply

