Hit the road Jack…

I got my permit today!!  It took forever, but I’m happy now.  I haven’t been too excited about getting my permit before, but now that I have it, I’m kind of excited. 🙂

Course, it helped when a friend of mine who is a year younger than me got his permit on Monday.  It made me feel officially embarrassed.  So I didn’t let him show me up for long. 🙂

It took a lot longer than I thought it would!  We got to the DMV around 2:15 and sat there for forever!  I got number B583, and when we sat down they were on B511.  They made it to B515 at about 3:00. :rolls eyes:

Mom was getting scared that we wouldn’t make it in before closing and would have to come back another time.  It was getting to be 4:30, I believe the closing was at 5:00, and it looked like Mom’s fears would come true.  But I didn’t want to give up!  We had waited, we needed to persevere!

Suddenly a lady asked for everyone who came to take the written test to come up to the front.  I went up there and got the test and went to fill it out.  My hand started to shake while I was attempting to fill out the test.  What if I didn’t pass?  After we had waited for over two hours!  And being a perfectionist didn’t help matters any either. 🙂

I finished the test and put it in the basket.  A kind lady came over and took my test away to grade it.  Just as I joined Mom, my number was called.   We went to the desk and I explained that I had already taken my test.  He got all my information, Mom asked him if I had passed the test.  He said, “We’re not concerned with that now.”  After filling out all the forms I found out that I had only missed one of the questions!  That was pretty cool!  I gave them my personal info, weight, height, hair color, eye color, and went to get my picture taken.  It was all pretty exciting after the ball started rolling.  I’ll be getting my real permit in the mail sometime in the next while.

Over all, it was pretty cool.  I now can learn to drive (scary huh?  Everyone else beware!).

 ~Tee-Kaye

4 Responses

  1. Wow. Completely different from my experience.
    (I’m the embarrasing friend by the way)

    No basket. They were totaly concerned about what I scored. I took the test after filling out paper work, and my wait was only 30 minutes.

  2. Hi Tee-Kaye!
    How exciting!
    I went to the driving place in Parker and the wait wasn’t bad at all. I only missed one too! I stood there while aa nice older man graded my test. I guess he could tell I was nervous, because when he got done grading he acted as if he knew how nervous I was when he said “you passed!”
    I have had my permit for almost two years now, and I still only have half my hours! 😦
    Oh, well, 😉 I figure I better get it pretty soon though, cause I’m going to be a senior this coming year!
    Thanks for the update!
    ~A Daughter of Zion

  3. Wow! I’m hoping to have my hours done pretty soon. But we’ll see what happens! 😉 I envy both of you your short wait times. 😦

    ~Tee-Kaye

  4. I wish we didn’t move, because now I have to go back in on Tuesday and get a permit for this state! I will have two permits 🙂
    Sarah

Leave a Reply

