Sanity, it’s a good thing

As the next speech and debate tournament is rapidly approaching, and I am significantly re-vamping my affirmative case, I am finding it hard to get everything done that should get done.  I haven’t practiced my violin at all, I haven’t done much in the way of school, haven’t finished some things for debate and haven’t really helped much around the house.

Of course I could use the excuse that I was really sick with a cold and the flu and was completely drained by the end of the last tournament and needed to recover my health.  And I have been breaking out in hives for some unknown reason and have had big chunks of my day taken up in recovering from the affects of the Benedryl.  But there is still so much that I could have gotten done.   I’m a terrible procrastinator, and am terribly lazy.

So, as my time left to prepare is drawing to a close I remember these verses.

 John 14:26-27 “26But the Counselor, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you. 27Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.”

1 Corinthians 9:24-27 “Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize?  Run in such a way as to get the prize.  25Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last; but we do it to get a crown that will last forever.  26Therefore I do not run like a man running aimlessly;  I do not fight like a man beating air.  27No, I beat my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize.”

Hebrews 12:1-3 “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.  2Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.  3Consider him who endured such opposition form sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.”

Sola Deo Gloria!

~Tee-Kaye

3 Responses

  1. Hi Tee-kay!
    I didn’t know you played the violin! I do a little bit, and don’t practice as much as I should. I hope you have a great time at this next tourny! Did you qualify to Nats at the last one?
    ~Amber

  2. I will be praying for you! So I guess the rash on your legs was not just from your leggings???
    Love ya
    Little Woman

  3. No I didn’t qualify for Nats. But I did for Regionals! ; )

    We’re not sure what the hives were from. We at one time thought it might be the cough drops, but now we’re not sure. But I have gone three days without breaking out in hives, so maybe I’ll be okay!

    ~Tee-Kaye

Leave a Reply

