Emotional Purity: 3

Before I share the next link, I want to speak a little to why emotional purity is important.  Here is something Sarah Mally wrote in “Before You Meet Prince Charming.” 

“But think of it this way:  How would your future husband feel if he knew that some other guy had known your deepest thoughts, dreams, fears, and emotions?  What would he think if some other man had known  you even better than he himself knows you?  Or how would you like it if some other girl had dozens of long, deep, intimate conversations with your husband and knew practically everything there was to know about him?”

I might address this more later.  But here is another very good post that I found on the blog “Girl Talk”. http://girltalk.blogs.com/girltalk/2005/09/q_a_1.html I hope it causes you to think. ; )

~Tee-Kaye

2 Responses

  1. Hi Tee-Kaye!
    That was a very good article! Thank you for posting things about emotional purity on your blog! Young ladies need to think about and realize that there is more to purity than just the physical aspect. Even young ladies like me who have heard these things and should know them by heart, need reminded sometimes.

    Another thing that I have found to be helpful in pursuing emotional purity, is staying very aware of what I watch, read and listen to. My family has never watched a lot of movies, but it was not until a little over a year ago that our family made the commitment to watch only things that are educational and good. I had not realized before how many “Love stories” I was watching! Even if it was something very “small”, like flirtatious glances. It doesn’t matter what movie your watching, there’s bound to be something romantic in there! Even in most of the christian books I’ve read, there is always that same twist. As my family and I began to study God’s word together regularly and as we began to more closely monitor what we were watching, reading and listening to, (I also became occupied with more productive things) I didn’t battle with thought of marriage and my “Prince Charming” and “Could he be the one!?” nearly as much as before! Just something to keep in mind. 🙂

    One more thing, I believe it was Bill Gothard who recomended that you have a “prayer partner” what this means is that when you are struggling with bad thoughts, of any kind, you would have someone to pray for. (Your Dad or brother would make a great subject) If the devil is the one sending you these thoughts, which most likely he is, he will stop because he doesn’t want you praying for others! This works for many things including those times when it is very hard to get along with your siblings. 😉

    Thank you again!
    ~Amber

  2. Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts! I heartily agree with you on watching what movies you watch, and even books you read. I found I was having more problems when I was reading a lot of romance novels. And using bad thoughts as a “spring board” to pray for people is a very good idea!

    Thanks again!

    ~Tee-Kaye

Leave a Reply

