Emotional Purity

Emotional purity.  It’s something that girls don’t tend to think about (or at least I didn’t until recently ; ).  We always hear people talking about the need to be pure in our relationships and the first thing that comes to mind is being physically pure.  We rarely think past the physical to the heart of the matter.  Namely, emotions.  But God tells us in

Matthew 15:19-20a

“For out of the heart come evil thoughts, murder, adultery, sexual immorality, theft, false testimony, slander.  These are what make a man ‘unclean’…”

Your actions start with the thoughts of your heart.  I always hear people talking about being pure in your actions, but we need to get to the heart of the matter. ; )  We need to desire purity in our hearts and search out what God has to say about it.  Such as

Titus 2:11-12

“For the grace of God that brings salvation has appeared to all men.  It teaches us to say “No” to ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright and godly lives in this present age.”

Change does not start with the outside, it starts with your thoughts and emotions.  If we desire to live pure lives, we must first have pure thoughts. 

Proverbs 23:26

“My son, give me your heart and let your eyes keep to my ways.”

We cannot be pure in heart if we are always thinking and fantasizing about boys and who we think is “the one”.  Our desire should be for God, and God alone.

Psalm 73:25

“Whom have I in heaven but you?  And earth has nothing I desire besides you.”

I’ll share more of thoughts on this subject later.  For now, I’d like to share one of the wonderful websites I found the other day.  It’s called Issacharian Daughters.  Here is a link to the website. http://issacharian.com/index.php?mact=News,cntnt01,detail,0&cntnt01articleid=44&cntnt01dateformat=%25d%2F%25m%2F%25Y&cntnt01returnid=48.  It is an article on emotional purity.  Here is a link to the homepage. http://issacharian.com/index.php?page=home  Genevieve Smith, the author of the website, is a very insightful young lady, and I’m learning a lot going through her newsletter archive.  I’ll probably be sharing more of her articles in the future.

God Bless!

~Tee-Kaye

2 Responses

  1. Hi Tee-Kaye!
    On the subject of emotional purity, I wanted to see if you had the book “Before You Meet Prince Charming” It is a great book and very interesting. It is very helpful in the area of waiting and emotional purity. Thanks for your thoughts! God bless!

    In the Sunshine of God’s Bountiful Grace,
    Amber

  2. Yes I have read that book. It was very good. I’ll have to include some of it in my posts.

    ~Tee-Kaye

Leave a Reply

